The Great Beret

by smitikumar

Beret pronounced berr-A, is French for those flat, round, unpretentious caps usually made of wool or cloth. I researched a bit on their history, and as far as headgear goes suffice it to say that berets have been runway material since at least the Bronze Age. Berets have enjoyed widespread popularity in Europe and among the militia of many countries- including India.

My earliest memory is of my Dad’s dark navy Indian Army Beret. In fact I was in awe of it and of just how grand Daddy looks in it. I was even allowed to try on the discarded ones (as long as I wasn’t seen outside the house in them.(That’s highly disrespectful to the uniform). In fact the concept of the beret to me has been so deeply associated with something powerful and well military that it took me a long time to appreciate that some form of it could be considered a fashion accessory. It still comes as a bit of a shock to me if for instance I see a bright pink, fluffy contraption perched
precariously on a pretty head, being called a beret.

On the very other end of the spectrum, in absolute contrast to the military image, see a civilian in a beret and you may just conclude that the wearer is a musician or a painter. Berets have long been associated with the stereotype of artistic, intellectual or otherwise bohemian people

20130529-233318.jpg

Henry VIII in a beret (picture source: Wikipedia)

20130529-233538.jpg

The iconic Che Guevara beret (picture source : Wikipedia)

20130529-233739.jpg

That’s me in what may or may not qualify as a beret.